Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• some hum in my new 5e3

Hi!

I'm new to bulding amps, and i've just completed my first one, a Fender 5e3!
    Everything seems fine, i like the tone, but theres some hum. No that much, so that there's a major problem somewhere, but i'm sure that its above normal.
    Turning the vol pot amplifies the hum and
    there's a hiss increasing when turning up the tone pot. Turning the guitar pot up or down doesnt seem to have an affect.

I've about 347V at my first filter cap. Measured around 6.5 at the filaments and pilot light. These voltages seems almost steady (+- 0,01-0,02V )
    What strange is, that sometimes the pilot light gets brighter or darker for a while few moments.

I made 1 connection to the chassis near the PT, and gatherered all the grounds there (PT, jacks (isolated), filter caps, pots, safety ground, everything is directly connected with a separate wire to this point, no local star grounds, buses..). Is this okay?

Poking around with a chopstick didnt help. I've changed the rectifier tube too.

I'm sure i did something wrong, but what is that?

bye,
    Rody

sounds like your grounding scheme is wrong and is probably a source of the hum problem.

Comment

Try moving the preamp grounds, pot grounds & screen supply filter cap ground to another ground point, prefereably at the Normal/Mic #1 input jack?

Pilot light could be the bulb or intermittent connection in the fuse holder, try a new bulb first.

Comment

I had grounding trouble too. Asked on another forum and got this.
        Chopped out my 'best guess' grounds and followed it.
        Perfect.

Hmm, that showed up a little small -- there's some intricate detail at the inputs.
        There's a larger image of it in this thread
        http://www.guitarscanada.com/Board/s...ad.php?t=11412

Comment

Originally posted by rody82 View Post
          Hi!