Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Book for beginner building a kit?

Hi,
    I would like to build a simple kit like 5e3 or 5f1, but I do not have any knowledge of theory or amp building ... a total beginner!

Can you suggest some books which could help me to start learning?

Thanks

I think you would benefit more if you build a kit from a company that provides support and is designed for beginners. Some kits will just provide you the parts, and a schematic and assume you have enough knowledge to go from there. Others are more thorough. Reading books is good, but until you have a source of reference (feeling, touching, seeing) what they talk about, it won't be as beneficial. Just by building the kit you will learn more than you ever could read on the subject of building kits.

Comment

I agree ... but I would like to know some basic stuff ... like: how to check your work as you go along and when you finish ... what tools to have? It is probably not a good idea to build a kit and just plug it in when its finished?

Comment

You may try a copy of this:

http://www.amazon.com/Guitar-Amp-Han...5069451&sr=1-4

This is basically a good book for beginners. Goes into enough to familiarize yourself all the terminology, circuits, etc., without getting TOO deep, technically. A good starting point that should make more technical books easier to comprehend.

Zuzu learned a lot from this book, and now other books aren't so intimidating to him.

From there, check the "Customer's who bought this, also bought..." for more books.

Just a thought.

Brad1

Comment

I too am new to amp building and this site has been a great help.
          http://www.valvewizard.co.uk/

The samples from this site make the books seem promising.
          http://www.pentodepress.com/
          -Mike

Comment

Jack Darr Book and other stuff