Marshall TSL60 - Excessive hum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall TSL60 - Excessive hum

Hey all - Great forum you've got here. I've been reading quite a few threads and there's a hell of a lot of collective knowledge here! I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction with my TSL.

I purchased this amp new in 2001 and it's been rock solid, but there's always been what I consider excessive hum on the crunch and lead channels. I've swapped cables, swapped guitars and done a retube/bias, with no luck.

I pulled the chassis and gave the board a quick visual inspection and there's some solder joints that look suspect. Near the input jack, L1 and R82 both have shady looking joints. Would bad joints on these two contribute to the hum? Would touching up the joints on anything that looks suspect be pretty a straightforward thing to do? Any ideas on any other things to look for?

I have some soldering experience and some basic tube amp knowledge, but to be honest, the TSL looks a little more intimidating when compared to my Valve Jr.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Does anyone know if these amps require the caps to be bled? Looking at the schematic, there appears to be two bleed resistors adjacent to the filter caps.

Comment

I know you said you swapped guitars but are you playing single coils? It never hurts to reflow any questionable joints. Does the hum go away as you turn down the gain? After a few minutes the caps should bleed off and also make sure the standby switch is in the operating position and the AC cord is unplugged while your working on the amp.

Comment

Your voltmeter knows. If you are ever in doubt about a charge in a cap, MEASURE it.
        Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment