stromberg carlson

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• stromberg carlson

got an old Sc signet 33 i am working on im new at this so try to bear with my ignorance but i need to know how to calculate the proper value and how to install a bias pot for this amp
    as well this amp has a tube taht perplexes me it has a 6U8 which i am familiar with as an occilator tube but not as a preamp tube it handles the phase inversian task as well as a gain stage for the phono channell
    will evil things happen if say i swap this tube with a 12ax7

Evil things? Well it won't work for one thing. The two tubes have very different pin assignments.

Bias supplies are all calculated the same. STart with the voltage at the first filter. This would be the "raw" bias voltage. Then decide the target voltage - the bias voltage we want at the tubes themselves. I know you want a ranfe, but pick the voltage at the center of that range.

Now it is a matter of creating a voltage divider. From that raw supply, there is probably a resistor to the second filter, and from there a resistor to ground. The bias for the tubes comes off the second filter. The voltage at the second filter will be a percentage of the raw voltage, and that determined by the ratio of the first resistor and the resistor to ground. Specifically, the bias will be the percentage determined by the ground resistor divided by both resistors added together.

For example of the raw negative supply was -80 volts, and the first resistor was 10k, and the resistor to ground was also 10k. Then the point where the resistors meet - the point where the second filter connects - would be -40 volts. 10k/(10k+10k) x 80 volts = 40