6L6PP Cathode Bias

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6L6PP Cathode Bias

I hope someone can point me in the right direction. I have an amp that sounds great as long as I don't dig into the strings real hard. When I do, it rasps and the volume will jump up and down. I took some measurements with the amp at idle, but I'm not good at interpreting the results. The 6L6 plates read 440v and the cathodes read 30v to ground. I also checked the common cathode current across a 1ohm resistor which I realize may not be the best way to measure that. It reads 140ma. Is that about 70ma from each tube? Do these measurements reveal anything?
    "The time I burned my guitar it was like a sacrifice. You sacrifice the things you love. I love my guitar."
    - Jimi Hendrix

http://www.detempleguitars.com