Opinions on this circuit's potential?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on this circuit's potential?

I've scored an old Marshall 9001 preamp (free) and I've been contemplating modifying the gain stages of it. I'm a noob to tube circuitry, so I'm not sure if this is a good project to start on. What I'd like to do is removing the diodes from V2 (clipping, right?), and add 2 more gain stages before V3. I'm yet to measure plate voltage, etc. There's just enough room is this thing for another 12ax7...
    Is this a stupid task to undertake? or is there potential for a decent sounding pre and a (not too frustrating) lesson in amp modding here? Thanks!

http://www.drtube.com/schematics/marshall/9001-4.gif
    http://www.drtube.com/schematics/marshall/9001-1.gif

The tubes are wired up in a really strange way there. Marshall seem to have used one triode in each double triode tube as an ordinary common-cathode gain stage, and the other triode (the upper one in the schematic) as a sort of current source. This is known as a "SRPP" circuit. If you wanted more gain, why not rewire the current sources as extra gain stages.

Be warned though, Marshall probably put a lot of R&D into getting it working and sounding all right. Modding it may do some weird things

The diodes might be there for clipping. But they might also be there to stop high voltage signals from a preceding tube stage from blowing up the switching JFET. You'd need to check before taking them out.
    "Enzo, I see that you replied parasitic oscillations. Is that a hypothesis? Or is that your amazing metal band I should check out?"

Comment

Steve,

Be warned though, Marshall probably put a lot of R&D into getting it working and sounding all right. Modding it may do some weird things