Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Install GFS pickups in Yamaha Pacifica 302S

Hi all,

I’m not an electrician and have never done anything like this before. I am trying to replace the stock pickups in a Yamaha Pacifica 302S (Tele copy) with GFS pickups.

Neck - Alnico Fatbody neck pickup (I37)
    Bridge - Alnico Boutique Bridge Pickup (I29)

Both of these GFS pickups have got just two separate wires coming from them.

When I unscrewed the bridge plate and pickup cavity plate and examined the pickups installed by Yamaha I found that they had an extra strand of multicore wire along with the two wires from both pickups. All of these wires are made into one cable.

Current wiring
    Neck pickup.
    Red wire goes to the 3 way switch.
    White wire and multicore wire are soldered together in the control cavity and a wire goes from these and is soldered to the back of the volume pot.

Bridge pickup
    Red wire goes to the 3 way switch
    White wire is soldered to the back of the volume pot.
    Multicore wire is soldered to a different part of the volume pot.

What is the purpose of the multicore wire? Is this for shielding or grounding?

I have downloaded a standard Telecaster wiring diagram from the Seymour Duncan website and this shows a ground wire from the bridge soldered to the volume pot? I don’t appear to have this on my guitar! There is no place on the back of the bridge plate to solder a ground wire. If I completely rewire the guitar using the Seymour Duncan diagram how will it be grounded?

Help anybody?

Bren

Let's see if I can break this down for you.First thing, the neck pickups.The Yamaha has a metal cover,the GFS doesn't.The reason the Yamaha has an extra wire is that it is connected to the cover to ground it,which is why it solder to the pot body which is a ground source.The white lead wire is the coil ground wire,also connected to ground via the pot body. Since the GFS has no cover,it doesn't need the extra ground wire.