Magnavox Amp 175 project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Magnavox Amp 175 project

Hi everyone! My name is Aaron and this is my first post here. I'm a relative noob to electronics work. I found my way here by first being interested in building and modifying guitar pedals, and then moving on to being interested in tube amp work.
    I recently picked up a magnavox 175 amp for free. Here is all of the info for it. It's not the console. It's just the amp w/ 2 12ax7s and 4 6v6s.
    http://www.chibardun.net/~kjkuen/Mag175.pdf

I've been looking over schematics for small tube amp for a few days and I finally tracked down the schematic for this Mag175. So, by looking at this schematic, what do you guys think I can convert it into for guitar use? I'd like to get a nice sound w/out having to totally gut this thing, but if I have to rebuild a lot of the circuit to guitar standards that's Ok too.

Keep in mind this will be my first tube project/conversion. Go easy on me.

regards,
    Aaron

two output trannies

Did you notice that the amp schematic has two output transformers? Most guitar amps have one OT. I am not saying you can't make what you have work, but note that it will be different than most guitar amps.

When I get old Bogen amps that I convert to guitar amps, I gut them and install (inexpensive) paralleled terminal strips which is easy to do and then rebuild them into an amp that I am familiar with and know that I will like.

You could change the two OT's out for one (that would be suitable with 6L6's) and possibly use 6L6's like in a 5E5 Pro or if you didn't need that much power ....... try using one of your OT's and maybe build a 5E3 Deluxe. Obviously, you'd need to gut it to do that.

I think you can do something with the amp but trying to work with the circuitry in there would be tough for a beginning amp project.

With respect, Tubenit

Comment