Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bogen CHB-20A Conversion

Hello All, newbie here. Great forum!

I just "won" a Bogen CHB-20A on eBay and was wondering if anyone here has any other info on this amp other than a schematic (I found one of those)?

My life as an EE started in the early 70's, back when they taught tubes. It's been a while since I've worked with them, but I think I know enough to keep from getting electrocuted/burned. The question I have is this: the amp is untested, sold as is. What is the safest sequence to power it up? Should I do it with no tubes to start and measure voltages or what?

The goal I have for this amp is to build a "quick and dirty" head that will give me a little more power than the Ruby 386 based SS amp I currently use.

Thanks,
    Brian
    Some people are like slinkies, not good for much, but they bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.

What is the safest sequence to power it up? Should I do it with no tubes to start and measure voltages or what?
    There's a lot of things you can do for safety, and that's a good one.

I usually keep things simple.

You can test the electrolytics with an ohmmeter. They usually need replacing in old amps, but sometimes they last.

After doing it a bunch of times without, I built a simple light bulb current limiter using a lamp and an inexpensive three prong cord. Pros have a varistor with an ammeter, but they're somewhat expensive.
    See the birth of a 2-watt tube guitar amp - the "Dyno Tweed"
    http://www.naturdoctor.com/Chapters/Amps/DynoTweed.html

Comment

Welcome.

I use a dim bulb tester when I run an old amp for the first time. If there's a short you won't harm anything. here's a link

Comment

Thanks John_H, good link!!
        Some people are like slinkies, not good for much, but they bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.

Comment

Bogen conversion