Please take a look at my 5F1 layout

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please take a look at my 5F1 layout

It's my first build and I think I'm about ready to solder.
    It's a 5F1 with a tone control (defeatable) a la 5F2-A.
    How's the "predicted" lead dress? It's a mix of Fender
    layout and Angela's. Plus some of my uneducated
    mess around...

What about the grounding? Is it okay?

Sorry for the messy layout. Almost everything is scaled.
    The chassis can be a bit longer. I'll cut it tomorrow.

If anyone could take the time, it's greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much.

fabiomayo

Fabiomayo,
    I'll contribute a few power supply related ideas. Otheres will probably have more.
    1) Use a two wire (twisted pair) 6.3V heater supply with a virtual center tap ground made with two 100 Ohm resistors to the chassis. This includes the pilot light circuit. Fender originally used the chassis as one conductor as a labor saving measure. Not because it was better.
    2) Use the AC mains wiring that you see on modern schematics with the switch and the fuse both in the "Hot" lead. If I find a diagram, I'll post it.
    3) No need for the .047uF "death cap" that you have from the fuse holder to the chassis since you are installing a grounded power cord.

Tom

Comment

Thanks for your quick reply, Tom.

1) Ok. Let's see if I got this straight... So I use the wire shown on the
      layout I made and twist it with another one, connected only to ground
      through a 100R resistor on each end, is that remotely right?
      2) No problem. From the AC plug to the switch and series to the fuse,
      then to the power tranny. The other wire goes direct from AC to PT.
      3) NO idea what's that cap for. I'll lose it...

Thanks a lot. Any other thoughts?
      fabiomayo

Comment