Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

"Broken" Musicmaster Bass amp question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Broken" Musicmaster Bass amp question...

Hi all,
    I'm Aaron and I'm still a noob around here but trying to learn. I recently picked up a "broken" Fender Musicmaster bass amp. 1x12 12watts 2 6v6s volume and tone knobs. It arrived w/ only 1 tube and it was a 6L6, which I'm guessing was part of an attempt to get the amp working by someone who knew nothing about tubes or they were running it w/ the wrong tubes. The seller was selling it for parts/repair and said that the transformers were good and that the unit powered up so I took a chance and bought it. Well, I got it home and put in some 6v6s I had around and it fired right up, sounds pretty good turned up about half way. Nice and juicy tone in this little guy. No power supply hum as far as I can tell. I little bit of hiss but not bad at all for being "broken". Need a good speaker for this one after all the checkup procedures.
    My (humble) question is about the tiny little PT that comes in these amps. After running the amp for a couple of hours the PT gets pretty warm and the preamp tube gets hotter than I've previously encountered.

Are these issues normal for this amp? I didn't note any funny smells or burning scents.

The power tubes (now 6v6s as god intended) do not red plate (as far as I can tell). The jewel light IS burned out, not sure if that's a big deal or not.

I don't have my multi meter right now but I intend to get some voltage readings and trace out the circuit to see if any "improvements" have been made. It has been modded previously. It has two extra 1/4 jacks on the back (for what?) of the chassis and two plugs on the front faceplate where it appears additional controls once lived and may live again if I choose.

Thanks for taking some time to read this, Ampagers.

Appreciative,
    Aaron