Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Vintage 50's Console conversion, need advice!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vintage 50's Console conversion, need advice!!!

I just inherited an old Emerson tube Console Stereo. Nothing but AM radio, turntable and a tape input. It has an 18" speaker, a horn tweeter and two smaller 5" mid ranges. It has 2 EL84's/6BQ5's a 5U4G Rectifier and a single 12Au7. The console is in great shape. My dad had cut the speaker wires to attach his own amp to them......Lovely and now i cant figure out how to re attach as there are no schematics. I also need some advice as to if its even possible to turn this sucker into a guitar amp? how many watts would this sucker be putting out? How to determine if its a Push-pull or single ended amp? I bought an old harmony and only had to put in a new electrolytic cap and she sings beautifully. Im new to this tube business and i cant get enough :-) ......I figure its from the late 50's or even early 60's, it has the tweed front grill cloth. I will be posting some pictures of the amp and cabinet in the next few days.. Any help, suggestions, comments are greatly appreciated.
    Cheers

are you sure it is stereo? sounds to me like it is mono. if it is stereo it is probably about 5 watts on each channel with the el84s operating in single ended mode, if it is mono (which is what I expect is the case) it is about 12 to 15 watts with the el84s operating in push pull mode. the speakers will hook to the smaller transformer or transformers. are you sure that is the only tubes? check if it has 2 output transformers or just one. I have a feeling you are missing a preamplifier that would need to be used with it because you only have one pre-amp tube listed.

Comment