Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Few questions about scatter winding

Hi
    I'm a beginner in making pickup, I'm still experimenting.
    I wound some pickups I really really like but I don't always understand why I have the sound I have.
    I now wind humbucker pickups to try, I try to reproduce the sound of a genius PAFs from 1959 I used few times and really enjoyed.
    I tried different "pattern" I don't know if pattern is the good word.
    I think all the PAF ar wound very tight and this is one of the thing that prevent Larsen effect even without wax potting.
    I wound an humbucker with 50 turn per layer in both coils very wisely, one coil with 5000 turn and the other one with 5600 turn, and made another pickup with a "crazy pattern", kind of 7 turn per layer or something ... I also made 5000 turn for one coil and 5600 for the other one.
    The first pickup "wise pattern" sound a little "nasal" whereas the second one "crazy pattern" have a better balanced sound but maybe not enought "nasal" or "crying" but it was closer to the PAF than the first one.

That is one of my experimentation, can you tell me if I'm correct or if there is something strange in what I discover.

What do you know and want to share about the way to wind a good sounding PAF Replica ????

I have another question about the old pickups, it seems that old pickups where made a little randomly and they did not try to build it for a special position (neck, middle, bridge) then how can you explain that the original PAF I used on a Les Paul 1959 where very well balanced. Does it means that a good sounding PAF is good for neck or bridge position ????? Then why are most of the builders providing different neck ad bridge pickups ? (7,5 Kohm for neck and 8,5Kohm for the bridge for exemple)