Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Designing a CNC Winder and Tensioner

Hey guys,

I don't post often over here. For those who might not know me, I'm a hobbiest bass builder located in Brisbane, Australia. I'm slowly getting on the pro side of building though and have been building my own pickups since day one. (photos of my current winder available in another thread somewhere down this forum)

Two years ago I decided to go back to school to study Mechanical Engineering, I'm in my mid-30's. This is now my final semester of school, it just started this week. For our last semester we need to design a product to the point where it can be manufactured. This means I need to design the whole thing, calculate all forces and moments, choose the right components, draw this up in 2D and 3D CAD and maybe even do a CAD animation of it.

You guessed it, I'll be doing a CNC winder My teacher has just approved the idea so now I have to start researching this and drawing up my ideas.

The point of this thread is to get some ideas and feedback from you guys once in a while. My semester runs 17 weeks so over the course of those weeks I'll post drawings, designs and maybe pics of where i'm at.

My ideas so far:

The CNC will run on two Axis. X will be the rotating bobbin and Y the traverse. The CNC software will be running the slow start and stop of the X axis. The counter will be part of the software. At this point all of this will be done "theoretically" I'm not sure I'll be able to physically build the thing at the same time but the goal of the project is to design something that can be manufactured with my documentation at the end of the semester.

Questions:
    How fast can I run my X axis in rpm's during the wind without screwing up 43AWG wire and still maintain decent tension?

Is there any tensioner devices out there that will let you tension 42-44AWG wire in "set steps" i.e. you get a readout telling you how much force is on the wire?