Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DIY a deluxe power supply for guitar fx pedals?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DIY a deluxe power supply for guitar fx pedals?

Hi,
    I just started learning a process of recording electric guitar that is popularly known as Reamping. I bought a Reamp impedance and level matching device to allow +4dBu lo-z signals coming out of my recording system to hook up to my hi-z guitar amp and stomp box inputs. The Reamp has a ground lift that seems to work well.

I own a few cheap wall wart type power supplies that come with extra leads. They are marketed just for guitar stomp boxes.

I'm having lots of trouble when using the cheap power supplies to power the efx boxes. I get all kinds of interaction. Some 60hZ and some higher freqs. It just depends on what combo I've hooked up. (I have a big box full of pedals) I don't think they are consistent with regard to grounding design so there's all sorts of weird interactions.

Because I'm currently focused on recording the specific sound of the effects I'm more sensitive than usual about the noise. The noise might be ignored in a jam session with a live drummer etc.

Today I pulled the power supply and restocked with batteries and most of my complaints just disappeared.

So I'm wondering, can someone here help me work up a design for really deluxe power supply that might power many pedals but keep each isolated from each other?

I imagine I could buy or build a basic 9vDC power supply and then isolate the distribution feeds?

best regards,
    mike
    Last edited by mike_mccue; 07-16-2008, 09:33 PM. Reason: spelling

I was looking at Bob Bradshaw's website:

http://www.customaudioelectronics.co...and_power_.htm

And saw this quote: