Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PCB design and high voltages

Hi,

I need some help designing a PCB for a tube amp. I would like to know how high voltages relate to traces width and thickness and spacing between them?
    Can you point to a standard, application note or calculator for this?
    Thanks.

Google "high voltage" trace clearance and you can become an expert, which is a good idea if you're doing a board for a tube amp.

Comment

Originally posted by BackwardsBoB View Post
      ... you can become an expert, which is a good idea if you're doing a board for a tube amp.
      Amen, Brother!

Tube amp PCB layout is not for the beginner, unless they have very deep pockets indeed.
      Amazing!! Who would ever have guessed that someone who villified the evil rich people would begin happily accepting their millions in speaking fees!

Oh, wait! That sounds familiar, somehow.

Comment

Actually I'm not a beginner - I have several tube amp layouts that work without any problems so far. I just wanted to make sure they comply with the standard.

Comment

I didn't mean to blow you off. I have a similar problem. It took me a few tries on Google to get good links, but the search I recommended will point you to standards and calculators.

If you've already done a few boards, you know it's all in the details.

Comment

http://www.ce-mag.com/ce-mag.com/arc...uctSafety.html

enjoy

FWIW, one of my favourite things about tube amps is that they don't require PCBs. I do PCB layout in my day job, in fact I just finished a 6-layer mixed-signal motherboard with 350 SMT parts and am sick of the things.
            "Enzo, I see that you replied parasitic oscillations. Is that a hypothesis? Or is that your amazing metal band I should check out?"

Comment

Originally posted by Steve Conner View Post
              I do PCB layout in my day job, in fact I just finished a 6-layer mixed-signal motherboard with 350 SMT parts and am sick of the things.