how to mic amps for sound samples...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to mic amps for sound samples...

I'm starting to realize how little I know about recording amps. If you saw my other post in the PAF thread and my sound sample, the best tone I got was from 4 feet away off center, not close up to the amp. I'm just using a $30 powered video camera microphone. I'd like to spend maybe a $100 and get something decent so any tips here would be appreciated. I've also been using an old 4 track cassette recorder as preamp and wonder if I should do something else or go straight into the Mac? Thoughts?
    http://www.SDpickups.com
    Stephens Design Pickups

Recording amps is a difficult task. I have been a live tech for 20 years, owning a small recording studio for ten years and I still think it is hard. You need a really good amp and really a good microphone to start with. Then you need a nice preamp and a good room to record in. And if you are going to compare recorded sounds you need to be able recreate the exact same conditions over and over again.

I?m going to stick my neck out here:
    If you are posting it on Youtube or make it available as MP3s for downloading you might as well use a POD. I mean that seriously! The compression used for Youtube or MP3s kills most sound and if you use a programmable unit you will at least have consistency between runs. Use the same setting for all tests and the viewer (listener) have a common base line between tests. You might even give away your settings/amp simulations used and the listener can relate even more, trying with their own POD. For recording you get a nice analog stereo output or use the USB interface and plug it directly into your Mac. And you can get the TonePort GX for more or less nuthin? (50$ or less) http://line6.com/toneportgx/

Comment

I agree with Peter. As Mr. T said, I pity the fool who tries to judge pickup and amp tone from Youtube clips.