Mesa Boogie Mark 3 Gain Loss

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mesa Boogie Mark 3 Gain Loss

Hi, It seems a lot of you have some Mesa experience so I'm hoping you might be able to help me out. I have a 1985 Mesa Mark 3 60 Watt combo that I purchased new and it sounded great for a number of years but then started to gradually lose gain on the rhythm 2 channel which also affected the lead channel.I've changed all tubes countless times over the years and no real improvement.In 1994 I retired the Mark for a Tri-Axis because it had lost its crunch.I recently joined a small Blues band and did not want to drag a big rack and cabinets to small clubs so I though I would dust off the Mark and try to get it working good again,the amp fired up fine but still the same old lack of gain,bought all new tubes and replaced the filter caps on the main power board and still no cigar plus the lead tone is muddy and boomy with no bite.I'm new to doing major repairs but have been doing a lot of research trying to learn how to repair and trouble shoot myself.I've been playing for over 30 years and have a good electrical background and some basic electronics.I have built my own stompboxes and metronomes and that kind of thing and feel comfortable changing out components but I am just at a standstill on what to look for on this gain loss .The crunch channel on 10 is as clean as a Fender Twin where it used growl like a Marshall,it is clean and bright but cold and sterile almost like a clean transistor amp.I really am getting into learning how to do this stuff and going to try a kit amp soon but would like to try and save the Mesa,Any ideas you might have or help on this problem would greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Sixstring63