12AY7EH a hummer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 12AY7EH a hummer?

Is it possible for a tube itself to be a source of hum? I just finished wiring my 5F6A DIY, and I've got a hum problem that I can't trace. It's 60Hz and about 15mV on the plate of V1. If I pull the tube, the amp is quiet (duh?).

My split grounds appear to be ok, but I'm not ready to redo the grounds and heaters yet. I did go ahead a rewire the input jacks and shorten the leads to the grids. The 68K resistors are on the jacks, not the eyelet board. No difference.

I read in another thread in this forum that some tubes can be hummers. I don't have another AY7, but the local music store sells Fender brand tubes. Should I get one?

Other than the hum, the sound is loud and awesome. Man, I wish I could play better. I'm a builder, not a musician.

Larry

Some folks stick a 12AX7 in V1 to get more gain. So, if you have one of those tubes handy to try, it'll tell you if the problem was your 12AY7 or some other part of the amp. Or if you have a 12AT7 handy, try that. The 12AX7 has a gain of 100, the 12AT7 has a gain of 60, the 12AY7 has a gain of 40.

Comment

If you want the lower gain tube in there, the more plentiful option would be a 5751. It's gain is only SLIGHTLY higher than the 12AY7, but still lower than the 12AX7, and are readily available as NOS for a reasonable price.
      John R. Frondelli
      dBm Pro Audio Services, New York, NY

"Mediocre is the new 'Good' "

Comment

It may or may not be the tube itself. It could be that the supporting circuitry for that tube, including grounds and/or layout is responsible. You can check this with a tube swap. Any known quiet 12xx7 tube will do. If it is the tube, and you want the gain of the 12ay7, I would stick with a 12ay7. IMHE it's a very good sounding tube. But it can be hard to find a good one.

Chuck
        "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo