business talk

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• business talk

ok, I'll be the first to admit I am new to the art/science of winding pickups. I have successfully built my winder and wound a couple of nice sounding humbuckers, and I'm looking forward to learning and winding more pickups as the years go on. My first intention was to build pickups for the guitars I'm making (also a new venture) to create a very customized instrument (maybe even sell them if I get good). However, I decided to post a small add locally stating that i'm in the R&D stage of designing pickups and if anyone would like to come down and try them out, give me some feedback etc., I would install them on their guitar and if they liked them they could buy them but no pressure yada yada. That was less than 48 hours ago. I have since received 14 emails from people interested in try/buying pickups. I was not expecting this kind of response but I'm plesantly surprised and now I'm wondering if I should persue this more seriously (i.e. invest in some stock etc.) Without revealing too much, can anyone give me an idea if making pickups as a one man opperation can be a profitable venture or is it more famine than feast? Does your business come mostly from word of mouth, local players or the internet? If I were to slowly invest more into it, what would be a good place to start re. stock, equipment, meters. I feel I'm in a good position as i only work 3 days a week at my day job and teach guitar in the evenings (which i'm ready to let go if i could).
    thanks...