How to get more high end in a P-90?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to get more high end in a P-90?

So i've got my first P-90's wound and overall i'm pretty happy with them, I would like to get some more high end out of them though. A little more sparkle in the upper notes if you know what I mean... I'm still pretty new at this and would love some help.. Here's my specs:

A5 magnets
    No Keeper Bar (poles right against magnet)
    42 AWG poly solderable
    1/4" Internal Bobbin height
    3/4" Filister head screws.
    Rapid traversing scaterwound. Aprox 15-20 TPL.
    10000 turns.

Im currently winding the core at relatively tight tension, then loosening it as I get to about 5000 winds to keep the bobbin from flaring.

I'm assuming the biggest alteration in tone is going to come from tension in the wire. Any thoughts on what I need to do to achieve my goal?

b.

Try more tpl. 15-20 is pretty wide.
    Bryan Gunsher
    http://www.bg-pups.com
    https://www.facebook.com/BGPups

Comment

What are you using for a test guitar? The pickups might be plenty bright. What are the values of the pots, and capacitor?

Comment

Originally posted by John_H View Post
        What are you using for a test guitar? The pickups might be plenty bright. What are the values of the pots, and capacitor?
        South American Mahogany les paul jr'ish guitar in the neck position. 500k RS superpots. 0.014 PIO caps.

Comment

Originally posted by belwar View Post
          South American Mahogany les paul jr'ish guitar in the neck position. 500k RS superpots. 0.014 PIO caps.
          Try swapping the cap with different values. In my Jr I've got a .033 cap, and a 1m tone pot.

Comment

While I understand how cap values and tone pot values can alter the treble, im more talking about altering the windings, as the average person who buys them is likely going to have 22's and 500k's. That would work to brighten up an individual set, I want to brighten up every set