Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New here, first silly question about variable resistors.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New here, first silly question about variable resistors.

Hello all,

I have lurked here for a while, and finally got past the intimidation to actually sign up. I am currently an engineering student with a strong interest in music electronics. I have built a compressor and a couple amps so far. It is quite addictive to say the least.

Anyway, I have a question regarding prototyping a guitar amp. Would there be any downside to laying the entire preamp section out on breadboard using variable resistor trimmers for the plate resistors, cathode resistors, and voltage dividers while I tweak an actually sound that I like? Any foreseeable problems with noise, tonal issues being too far off for reliability, etc.?

Also, what would be the best way to add socket type clips on a board to easily swap out caps while experimenting with different sounds during a prototyping stage? I really would like to have a way to teak things on the fly without having to solder and desolder over and over again ruining components and turrets.

Thanks in advance, I hope my question here doesn't expose me as too much a novice at this.

Billy

Well, one time I blew up an electrolytic cap in a bias circuit I was working on... that 100V cap didn't like it when I dialed the pot down to zero ohms, and the cap saw 400+V. I would say try to establish some safe minimum tor your proposed circuit and use a fixed resistor for that value, then tweak from there. Like, you probably don't want your preamp cathode bias resistor top be variable down to zero... or any resistor, for that matter. That's my only concern...

Justin
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -