Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guitar amp advice needed

Hi all,

Newbie here who needs some advise on which guitar amp to buy.

I am after a mid priced all tube guitar amp in the $1300-1700 USD range. I would like to get sparkling clean tones, bluesy OD's and classic rock high gain for solos. A 2x12" combo would be my preference.

The guitars I own are a Gibson Les Paul 1980 silverburst custom, an Ibanez 1970-something Musician guitar and i'm saving up for a Fender Hotrod Deluxe Telecaster.

The tones I would like to emulate are Jeff Buckley and Dave Gilmour for clean and blues tones and Jimmy Page and Jerry Cantrell for the classic rock and high gain tones.

The amps I am considering are the Fender Hotrod Deville III 2x12", Bogner Alchemist 2x12" and the Peavey Classic 50 2x12".

So out of these which one?

Other suggestions are welcome too.

Originally posted by simorchid View Post
    I would like to get sparkling clean tones, bluesy OD's and classic rock high gain for solos. A 2x12" combo would be my preference.

The tones I would like to emulate are Jeff Buckley and Dave Gilmour for clean and blues tones and Jimmy Page and Jerry Cantrell for the classic rock and high gain tones.
    That is a lot to ask from a single amp and will probably be a compromise either way. For the kind of money you are looking to spend, you can get a nice clean, shimmering reverby amp and and beefy, crunchy sounding single channel amp and switch between the two.

My vote, Fender Twin reverb for clean and Marshall 800 Combo for crunchy classic rock. Shop it hard and you can get both (used) within your budget. They both do what they do well. Add a TS-9 for solos and a A-B box and you are in business. Work the hell out of the volume know on the guitar for all the in-between sounds.

There are many other amps that will fit the bill instead of my two preferences, but you get the idea.
    (check out Eric Johnson's rig for an expanded example of this concept)