Deluxe Reverb Reissue Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deluxe Reverb Reissue Questions

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to this forum - it was highly recommended by a good and wise friend. I did some searching, but still could use some help figuring out the smartest, most cost-effective way to fix and improve my 2002 DRRI, which I bought used a year ago. Since then, I've been borrowing tubes from other amps to deal with microphonics and to try to mellow out the tone a bit. Over the weekend and during a gig, I noticed a couple of symptoms that happened once or twice, but that I couldn't repeat:

1. Three or four times during a three-hour gig, the sound started cutting in and out for about 10 -15 seconds. This happened after breaks where the amp had been left on and was completely warmed up, but not played for about 10-15 minutes

2. The jewel light started irregularly dimming and brightening, regardless of whether or not there was sound coming through the amps. Not flickering, just sort of pulsing.

3. The was a noise coming through the Vibrato channel, but stopped when the footswitch was unplugged. I've been unable to make that happen again, and I think that might be related to it being near a TV or a computer.

I should add, I love the amp overall, but it sounds a little harsh to me and I'd like to tame it a bit and try to make it sound a little more like the early 70's SFDRs I love. Everything I've read so far suggests tubes and a bias adjustment are the way to go.

I'm looking for a job right now, so would like to avoid bringing it to a tech. I also want to limit repair costs to my (meager) gigging earnings. So my first question is: Am I right in thinking this is tube-related?