Need Advice: Old Airline/Valco Amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Advice: Old Airline/Valco Amp

About 6 months ago, I found a 1966 Airline (Montgomery Ward) 62-9032 amp at the Goodwill for $5.99. It is just a small 5 Watt amp with a simple circuit; similar to a late 50s/early 60s Fender Champ (5Y3 - 6V6 -12AX7). I have finally gotten around to fixing-it-up.

My father owned a TV/Radio sales/repair shop when I was growing-up (1960s). I worked in the store when I was still in elementary school, so I have some experience with electronic gear from that time period. However, it has been a long time, and I would appreciate advice from any electronics wizards on these boards.

I found a schematic for a Gretsch 6150 Compact (mid 1950s-1968). The circuit seems to be exactly the same as my Airline except that my Airline has a tone control/circuit and the Gretsch 6150 doesn't. I suspect my airline has the same circuit as the Gretsch 6151 Electromatic Standard (mid 1950s), but I can't find that schematic online (only the 6151 Compact Tremolo). Evidently, these amps were made by Valco.

One wire from the AC cord is soldered to the fuse; the other wire to the ON/OFF-volume control switch. The wires from the T 3036 transformer are soldered to the opposite terminals on the fuse and switch. There is a red wire with a white stripe running between the fuse and the 5Y3 plate. The ON/OFF pilot light is also soldered to terminals on the fuse and switch.

I am planning to replace the old AC cord with a three-prong cord due to safety concerns. I am wondering if I should just attach the green wire on the three-prong cord to a transformer bolt; solder the the black wire to the fuse and the white to the switch.