Is My Power Transformer Toast?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is My Power Transformer Toast?

I have a Fender Bandmaster Reverb that is making a loud(ish) hum and produces a low output octave type effect when I play. The B+ voltage is sitting around 360VDC - from the schematic it should be around 435VDC. I pulled the rectifier and I'm getting roughly 360VAC coming out of the transformer. I figure it's toast, but maybe I'm missing something? Any particular reason why or how this could have happened?

Originally posted by Jake H View Post
    I have a Fender Bandmaster Reverb that is making a loud(ish) hum and produces a low output octave type effect when I play. The B+ voltage is sitting around 360VDC - from the schematic it should be around 435VDC. I pulled the rectifier and I'm getting roughly 360VAC coming out of the transformer. I figure it's toast, but maybe I'm missing something? Any particular reason why or how this could have happened?
    My crystal ball says that your power transformer is okay and that you probably need new filter caps and/or a new rectifier tube.

Welcome to the place.

Comment

Agree^^^^

I have no reason at all to think the transformer is at fault.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Why is it that people always think that their power or output transformer is broken? Next to the case and chassis, these are probably the two most reliable parts in the amp - at least in well designed amps.

I have to think this is a form of "OK, doc, give it to me straight. I can take it. I'm dying, aren't I?"
        Amazing!! Who would ever have guessed that someone who villified the evil rich people would begin happily accepting their millions in speaking fees!

Oh, wait! That sounds familiar, somehow.

Comment

Originally posted by R.G. View Post