My "head" was boring to look at!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My "head" was boring to look at!

So I decided to kinda make my amp my own. I have a Crate GT3500H SchockWave 350 Watt head with matching 4x12 cab loaded with celestions. (SEVENTY-80's YES ONE OF THE WORST SOUNDING CELESTIONS ON THE MARKET BUT WHATEVER I ENJOY THEM AND IM POOR LOL). So i used to really like the head and the way it looked. i am a major newbie in the world of amps and ohms and peak power and all that jargin but i am slowly doing my research when the wife lets me and im starting to learn. i have always liked Crate AMPS and everyone dogs me for it but i honestly DONT CARE. i love the way it sounds. i want my own sound and i feel i get that with my solid state amp. all my buddies who have TUBES make fun of me and laugh but honestly im cool with that. soooo on to why i posted this thread. So i got bored looking at my head. it was the same thing nothing fancy every single day. So i looked at some cool amp head mods and custom stuff but no one really has done anything. i saw a few on youtube that had legos in them with some cool scenes but i wasnt interested in that. then i saw a HUGHES AND KETTNER amp. i researched what the glass they used was and how they got the words to light up like that. so i went out and spent literally $15 at lowes on a 20x32 inch piece of acrylic. a sheet of it. I then got my picture i wanted and i printed it and sized it properly. WHEN YOU PRINT YOU MUST PRINT IN REVERSE. PUT THE PICTURE UNDERNEATH THE ACRYLIC OR PLASTIC SHEET THAT YOU BUY AND TRACE IT WITH A PERMANENT MARKER. (it will erase with windex and paper towel when your done). THEN YOU ETCH IT WITH A DREMEL AND LITTLE METAL SHAFT LOOKING INSERT WITH LITTLE SLOTS OUT OF THE TOP. I WILL POST PICTURE. I then began to etch and the deeper you press, without breaking the damn sheet, the brighter the light will reflect off that letter or picture. I went over soft to kinda scrap away the marker