Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, no lights, no sound, no bueno

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, no lights, no sound, no bueno

Hi, ive recently been having a bit bother with my fender hot rod deluxe.
    Im not a amp tech but i am a domestic electrician. I have very little experience with electronics so im a bit out of my realm and im looking for quick answers.

Scenario.
    Was recording some music, went down stairs to make a snadwich, came back up stairs to a loud humming sound coming from the amp and a burning smell.
    A package that was on top of the amp fell down the back and had stated to smolder on the tubes.

Turned the amp off, turned it back on 10 minutes later and no lights/ sound.
    checked the fuses (obvs), they are fine.
    checked the first power switch , its fine 230 going through.

Power then seems to be going to the first transformer but theres no power at the standby.

Does this mean the transformers knackered?

I gather this package that was on top of the amp had uncapped liquid which tipped over and seeped into the amp by first flooding the control panel? That's dangerous. 230VAC AC Mains. We can't yet see where you're from, as the forum's software just changed a couple days ago. No matter.

With NO Pilot Light and No Sound, checking the fuse was the first obvious action. With the AC mains cord disconnected, and the rear panel off, can you see where the liquid flowed on the main and tube PCB, as well as on the chassis? Granted, you can't see the other side of the chassis, and can only see some of the surface of the chassis behind the PCB's, while you can see all of the chassis by the power xfmr. Normally, if you've lost the pilot light, those are socketed, and sometimes have seating problems if they haven't burnt out/gone open. The Pilot light is on the Heater Winding of the Secondary side of the Xfmr.