to build a Pre-amp, or maybe an amp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• to build a Pre-amp, or maybe an amp?

hello, I'm kinda of new to electronics, and I've been messing around with some ideas for making a pre-amp to use with a home stereo, and possibly an fx pedal or two depending on the kind of chips/bits I can get my hands on.

I had an old univox amp that came with a couple of 4558D op-amp chips from the axl-20wea board that from looking at bad review after bad review seems to be garbage anyway, (the pots on the original amp were braking and falling apart from use, kinda sad for a practice amp i would think)

so instead of trying to rebuild the board again i decided I want to do something fun and build a pre-amp setup, possibly even a new amp using the old components, though I'm new to actually figuring out the ohms/voltage/wattage stuff, I'm not exactly new to soldering and de-soldering, I like to fix old broken r/c cars, so I possibly have an upper hand there.

my question would be, I've seen the lm386 pre-amp deal (lil-smokey amp) that people have been throwing together with that chip, but I can see a slight difference in the pinout between it and the 4558D, if I wanted to substitute the lm386 with the 4558D what would be the difference in the setup of the pinout wiring?

here are the pinouts:

http://www.datasheetdir.com/LM386+Audio-Power-Amplifier - LM386
    http://www.alldatasheet.com/datashee.../NJM4558D.html - 4558D

link to a thread in this forum about the lm386 model with schematic:

http://music-electronics-forum.com/s...ead.php?t=8046

Also I have a bunch of power supplies so I'd like to try and make this run at 12v as opposed to the schematics 9v, and I'm not sure how to calculate the compensation for the capsor thinking maybe I should just use a resistor something to drop the voltage.

if any of this sounds wrong like I said I'm new