need help and recomendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help and recomendations

I'm interested in building my own tube amp and i've come across this site. I'm an Engineering Tech student so i have a good knowledge of general electronics, but they stopped teaching tubes decades ago. So everything up to tubes i understand well.

On my travels on the internet I've been simply overwhelmed by the variety of amp schematics i've come across. I was wondering if you folks could recommend me a good amp to start with. I'm very experienced with soldering and reading schematics.

I have no interest in building a pre-amp since i have one of these (see link). I was thinking i could just plug it into the amp and then hook it up to my cab. My cab is a 1-12" at 75 watts. I build my own effect pedals so i can do without a pre amp. Also i would like to one day gig with this amp, so it needs enough wattage. I'm looking for a classic/grungy sound, just think weezer.
    http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com...802?sku=631263

huge thanks in advance.

Um... a single ended amp with several preamp gain stages and a honking big KT88 output tube (or parallel output stages)? - The AX84 site has some higher powered SE options for lead gueetar amps

or a tweed deluxe style thing

or a Marshall 18W type thing
    Building a better world (one tube amp at a time)

"I have never had to invoke a formula to fight oscillation in a guitar amp."- Enzo

Comment

If you have the preamp side 'taken care of', you probably have enough