DIY Acoustic Guitar Speakers Selection and Cabinet Design

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DIY Acoustic Guitar Speakers Selection and Cabinet Design

I have a 20watt RMS @8ohm powered mixer that I'd like to use to amplify acoustic guitar. I also have a LR Baggs Para DI preamp for tone so the mixer doesn't need to color the sound in any way. The lowest note on guitar is about 80hz. The decent off the shelf acoustic amps all seem to have 2 - 8" coaxial speakers and many also have a tweeter. I don't want to spend a fortune on the speakers and cabinet. Ideally I'd mount the mixer/amp in the cabinet for portable convenience. Weight is important.
    Does anyone have experience with Goldwood GW-8004's? I know very little about speakers and cabinet designs so would appreciate some suggestions regarding the size of the speaker compartment, closed or open, port size, tweeter type, crossover (I assume is necessary). I'm a decent carpenter so actual construction shouldn't be a major challenge once I know what to build.
    Thanks all.

That's a Hi Fi speaker, good at home or car but unefficient (87dB) ; buy a Jensen Mod 8 which is a guitar speaker and has 4X the sensitivity (93dB).
    For sparkle add a cheap generic Piezo tweeter.
    Jensen MOD Series speakers - Jensen MOD8-20 8" speaker. 4 or 8 ohms. Great choice for lead guitar cabinets.
    Juan Manuel Fahey

Comment

Thanks Juan! You say; "great choice for lead guitar". Should I assume that they are also a great choice for an acoustic guitar amplifier?

Comment