My Build - Switch On Looms!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Build - Switch On Looms!

So I've finished the wiring (thanks to all those who have helped with my previous posts).

It's based around an old Selmer O/P tranny and choke. Circuit consists of EF86 > 12AX7 feeding 2 6V6 pentodes with 5Y3 rectification.
    It's my first build and it was a bit of a deep end job

So apart from checking and rechecking the wiring, is there anything I can do to double check before powering it up with all the valves in?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0049.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	1.14 MB
ID:	868706
    Last edited by Shawnobi; 07-29-2014, 03:51 PM.

If you don't already have one build a light bulb limiter.
    Attached Files

Comment

Ignore post.
      Last edited by Shawnobi; 07-29-2014, 03:19 PM.

Comment

OK, so some dodgy rectifier wiring fixed. The next problem is the cathode bypass resistor and cap smoke as the amp starts to warm up. So there is a current inrush for some reason.
        Any ideas?
        Scheme attached:
        Click image for larger version

Name:	SelmerSM.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	995.1 KB
ID:	833965

Also one 6V6 is hot enough to cook with, the 2nd (Attached to the failing bypass cap) only warm.

Mods - Could you perhaps move this thread to the debugging forum?
        Last edited by Shawnobi; 07-29-2014, 03:50 PM.

Comment

Switch the 6V6's around, does the overheating stay with the tube or with the socket?
          If the problem stays with the tube then it is a bad 6V6 and that is why the cap is going bad (over-voltage).
          If the problem stays with the socket, then there is a problem with wiring/circuitry.
          Originally posted by Enzo
          I have a sign in my shop that says, "Never think up reasons not to check something."

Comment

I need to pick up some more caps.