Blues Junior Rebuild -- PT question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blues Junior Rebuild -- PT question

I want to build something in my unused Blues Junior. Thinking in terms of one of the 18 Watt Lite style layouts with SS rectifier. Looks like this would fit The Blues Jr tube complement.

But the Blues Jr PT has 315 VDC on the secondary, and the 18 Watt info I have seen has shown the PT high voltage at about 290 DC. How do I work out the B+ voltage the B Jr PT will provide, and from there whether I need to drop the B Jr 315V?

If I do need to drop the voltage, how best to do this?

Hi rdh,

I see no one's gotten back to you yet. I'm just a hobby builder, not a pro, so I don't want to give out advice on high voltage, but if you search the old threads you should get some answers. I went back and read through all the old design and theory threads and ended up with pages of notes. Good luck with your project.

Comment

Thanks for helping, ric, I appreciate it.

I've done a mass of reading too, but, as a beginner, sometimes it's nice to get some confirmation on the specific thing you're trying to do -- especially with high voltage.

Comment

Hey rdh,

Yes, I know. I found the Robert Megantz book "Design and Construction of Tube Guitar Amplifiers" to be a good read. It goes over the basics logically, at the same time it takes you step by step through what you need to know to build a Dumble type high gain amp. I havn't built out of his book, but it's there.

I don't know why some people get pages of replies here and others not. I wonder if people tend to follow the crowd. I tend to go AWAY from the crowd! Hang in there, if you want something bad enough and work for it you'll get there. As Neil Young's song says "don't be denied".

Best-ric
        Last edited by ric; 08-12-2014, 06:08 AM.

Comment

If the tube complement is the same, the B+ will probably be close, but you won't know exactly til you try it.