Ultra-noob help: Where to start on a Bogen CHB 20A

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ultra-noob help: Where to start on a Bogen CHB 20A

hey guys, new to the forum here and would like to see if I can shake the bushes a little here to learn a few things about a little amp I just picked up.

So this little Bogen Challenger 20A shows up on the floor of the garage at work last week from a load of things my boss pulled out of an old barn where his barbershop group rehearses. Thinking its obviously being staged for the dump, I offer him a few bucks for it but he says I can have it for free. My initial interest was that it being all tube, there might be some opportunity to somehow modify it into a guitar amp. Well, low and behold with a quick google search, I find that my intuition served me well as more than a few of you here on the forum have been doing this exact thing for a while now.

just to clarify, I'm a musician and not an electrician. I couldnt tell you the difference between a transformer and a capacitor but I do know great tone when I hear it and have a decent knack for coaxing it out of unlikely gear.

basicly, where I'd like to start with this project is figuring out how to get the weird amphenol mic plug converted to a 1/4" jack and decoding the process of how to wire the speaker outputs to a 12" cab to see where the tone starts in its raw state... and maybe learn a little more about how to read a schematic and fine tune it from there.

Anyone interested in pointing a noob in the right direction? From a quick browse of the current threads here, it looks like this is the right place!

Thanks!