Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

cheap experiment : run existing 1W. tube amp through a kit built 20W p[ower amp.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cheap experiment : run existing 1W. tube amp through a kit built 20W p[ower amp.

tonequester here.

This is my first visit to this section of the forum. I am more the musician than the technician, althiugh I do have some experience in basic electronics and
    worked as an electronics assembler(avionics) years ago. My assembly ability is quite good. I have some experience at troubleshooting, repairing, and modding amps,mostly tube but some S.S. as well. Much the same with guitars and even some effects. I definitely am lacking in theory, and part of my attempt to learn more includes this little project. I have a Blackstar HT-1R, 1W. practice amp that has very good tone(my opinion), and although I want to do some kit building for the experience and some hands on education, I wished to make this project utilitatrian as well. I had the idea come to me to use the HT-1R as a pre-amp, and "tone module" and run tit through the kit amp and find out how it sounds at an increased, "clean" output. I plan to take the Ht-1R's signal from the speaker out jack, as the input to the power amp. I have read conflicting information as to how to properly do something like this. I may need an "adaptor box". I have read about the Pro Co DB1 passive direct box, and it "sounds" like it would fit the bill. Yet I have read that one could connect the two directly. I don't see how this could work and have not been able to get anywhere with Googling the subject, except
    alot of "speculation. The whole project may be "fools gold" for all that I know. I would truly appreciate any replies, opinions, or conjecture from the forum. I have learned more on this forum, in the last couple of weeks than with hours of Googling. Thanks in advance to anyone who would care to reply. tonequester.