Guitar Tube Amp Conversion Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guitar Tube Amp Conversion Questions

Hello, im relatively new to the world of tube amps, but I'm determined to learn. I've built and modded guitar pedals, and have worked with other electronics, but this is my first time working on a tube amp. I decided I'd get more out of converting a tube amp into a guitar amp than simply building a kit. I dont just want to know what to do, i want to understand why.

I picked up a Voice Of Music tube-amp-powered speaker the other day to convert into a guitar amp, and I've been thinking about how I want to do it. I'd like to keep as many of the unique qualities of this amp as possible while prioritizing a good tone. I dont want to completely gut and rewire the chassis into a common circuit, I'd like to use as much of the original circuitry as possible and make something new and unique. I suppose if i was leaning towards any of the classic tube amp sounds it would be the fender "tweed" sound, but I'm much more interested in preserving the sound this amp already has than building a tweed-style amp in this chassis. However, if I'm faced with multiple otherwise equal options and one takes me closer to a tweed sound, thats the path I want to take.

The guy i got it from said he got it from a hoarder who claimed it works. I havent plugged it in yet. It probably hasnt been turned on in decades. I think this amp/speaker combo was originally used for a turntable, so it probably needs a little work to sound good as a guitar amp.

I'd like to bounce some ideas off the community, and i also have some questions. I'm attaching a pic of the schematic as found on the inside of the cabinet, and pics of the chassis exterior and interior.