No announcement yet.

6G6B build - bad power transformer????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6G6B build - bad power transformer????

I've built a 6G6B Bassman into an old junky solid state combo. I've run into trouble right off the bat.

I'm not getting any bias, heater, or HV out the secondary of the PT. I've got it on a variac and a light bulb limiter. At 70 VAC input I'm getting that voltage to and through the power switch, but then nothing coming out the secondary side of the PT. Nothing on the pilot light. Nothing on the bias feed. The center taps are on a confirmed good ground. The light bulb limiter is not lighting nor has the fuse blown. I'm just getting nothing out of this PT.

I'm also getting continuity to ground through one leg of the HV secondary taps.

It's a Classic Tone that I've been sitting on for a few years now.
    40-18005.pdf

My wiring goes...IEC receptacle hot > fuse tip > fuse sleeve > power switch > transformer primary > transformer primary > IEC neutral.

Any ideas? Am I just too wrapped up in it and missing something here?

Unplug from the Mains and Ohm across the power plug. Any continuity when you turn the power switch on ?
    WARNING! Musical Instrument amplifiers contain lethal voltages and can retain them even when unplugged. Refer service to qualified personnel.
    REMEMBER: Everybody knows that smokin' ain't allowed in school !

Comment

Originally posted by loudthud View Post
      Unplug from the Mains and Ohm across the power plug. Any continuity when you turn the power switch on ?
      Yes there is. Open with the switch off, about 1.5 ohms with the switch on.

Comment

Seems kinda low ... disconnect one side of the primary and Ohm the primary.
        WARNING! Musical Instrument amplifiers contain lethal voltages and can retain them even when unplugged. Refer service to qualified personnel.
        REMEMBER: Everybody knows that smokin' ain't allowed in school !

Comment