Speaker Wattage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Speaker Wattage

Hi again. Just about finished my first cab. Pleased with result. Cant do any more until kit arrives in a few weeks. Kit is 5 watts. What wattage speaker would be best. As you can tell I am a novice when it comes to valve amps so sorry for all the questions but I am learning a lot from all your replies. Thanks.

Your main concern should not be wattage, but voicing. Different speakers produce different sounds. Two basic categories are British & American, their are several versions of both (Celestion, Jensen, JBL, Weber, Eminence, Ware House, etc); and then there is magnet type: alnico, ceramic and now neodymium, each one effects the sound (& weight) in slightly different ways.

What you probably need to do is tell us what kind of amp your building and the size of speaker, and how much room you have in the cabinet, and then people can offer up their personal (subjective) preferences for that style of amp and size of speaker. After that wattage is a simple matter, if there are options in wattage available for the type of speaker you can just go with the lowest power rating.

Comment

to confuse you even more

guitar amps and the like don't use HiFi speakers. They use musical instrument speakers.

if you hook a MI speaker up to your stereo i'tll sound like mud! but boy oh boy hooked up to a tube amp and they sound amazing!

you see an amps speaker is the final ingrediant into the "TONE" equation.
      first is the instrument itself and the cable.
      second is the amp
      third the speaker.
      all of these have HUGE influences as to what the over all sound will be and changing any one of those ingrediants can give you drastic changes.

HiFi speakers on the other hand are designed NOT to flavor the tone of music. they re-create the music that has been made.

get it?

so like HASSREL suggested.. what flavor are you looking for?

Comment