No announcement yet.

Mercury Valve JR Upgrade Kit, Worth IT?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mercury Valve JR Upgrade Kit, Worth IT?

I have been looking at these. I already have a Valve Jr. head V-3. Want to mod it, but there are sooo many different people with kits, and the Mercury seems the best, but kinda pricey. Suggestions. This is my first build, but I do have an electronics background, and some knowledge.

Valve Jr Mods

First off, what is wrong with the amp?
    If you want to "mod" the amp, assuming it works but you just do not like the amp, what do you want to change?
    There is a "cost versus benefit" thing here.
    My personal opinion of the "upgrade kit" is : Rubbish!
    200 bucks for transformers that will "unleash the tonal potential" of a two tube amp?
    Rubbish.
    (I have some land in Florida for sale, real cheap)

Comment

Originally posted by Jazz P Bass View Post
      First off, what is wrong with the amp?
      If you want to "mod" the amp, assuming it works but you just do not like the amp, what do you want to change?
      There is a "cost versus benefit" thing here.
      My personal opinion of the "upgrade kit" is : Rubbish!
      200 bucks for transformers that will "unleash the tonal potential" of a two tube amp?
      Rubbish.
      (I have some land in Florida for sale, real cheap)
      Actually it is more to learn than anything. I work on electronics all the time with my job. Not tubes, and soldering much. I can read schematics, and have been reading a lot to understand all the principles. I thought they seemed pretty high as well. I went with a 50.00 heyboer output tformer instead, and will add a tone knob, and a few mods on suggestions. About 80.00 worth of parts on an 80.00 amp. Good for a project. Thanks

Comment