Proluxe to 5E3 conversion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Proluxe to 5E3 conversion

Greetings! This is my first post, but I've been mining the archives for a couple of months. Thanks to everyone for your input. You've already answered a lot of my questions.
    I recently bought a Weber Proluxe (6L6 duet, fixed bias, 40 watt OT) from an online seller. Nice amp, but not the tone I was after. I've since converted the amp to cathode bias and added an impedence switch to facilitate the use of 6V6's. The amp is running great with either set of tubes and I'm much happier with the way it sounds.
    I'd like to try a 5Y3 rectifier tube with the 6V6's, but the Proluxe's 40uf filter caps would put me on very shakey ground. If anyone has a suggestion for a set of caps that would work well with either pair of output tubes, I'd sure appreciate it. Also, I've heard of a standby switch mod that's much more kind to the rectifier tube. If anyone knows this tweak, I'd be very interested.

I built a 5F2A with a 5Y3GT and 40uF last year. The tube handled it no problems. The tube datasheets are written for conservative operation of tubes in old TV sets and radios so that they would last for decades. Guitar amps work better with tubes a bit overloaded. I wouldn't worry about it
    Building a better world (one tube amp at a time)

"I have never had to invoke a formula to fight oscillation in a guitar amp."- Enzo

Comment

If you are really worried about it, use a 5 watt 47 ohm resistor after pin 8 of the rectifier tube socket and before the first filter cap or standby switch.
      I've been doing a similar thing for years to add life to the rectifier tube when using capacitor input filters well beyond the rating of the rectifier tube.
      I've never had a tube failure due to excessive filter cap loading.
      Bruce

Mission Amps
      Denver, CO. 80022
      www.missionamps.com
      303-955-2412

Comment