Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Screen grid and cathode resistor layout in Tubedepot 5E3 design, any good??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Screen grid and cathode resistor layout in Tubedepot 5E3 design, any good??

Hi,
    I note in the Tube Depot kit, the resistor layout for the power tubes are different to all other build styles on the net, instead of just running a 1.5K 2W cathode resistor direct off the socket, they use a 1.5K 1/2W resistor for the cathodes, and also a 470 Ohm 2W resistor for the screen grids. Is this a good layout, is it better or worse than the usual single 1.5K 2W resistor as seen in most other kits/builds?? I'm not using a kit per se, just kind of winging it based on the many designs available out there. But, this was something I noted in the Tube Depot layout that is significantly different to all other styles...

I figure this is the best place to pose the question. I'm a newbie at builds, so nice basic answers are most helpful!!

Thanks in advance!!
    Steve

And for the record, I've already asked TD, their tech guy gets back on Monday, and besides, an objective viewpoint is always a good thing
    Thanks

Comment

I downloaded the manual for the build. It looks very thorough.

I would suggest you build it just exactly as the instructions tell you. If you go changing things, then they cannot help you if problems arise, because your amp will not be like the others. Once you know something about amps, you can change stuff.

They appear to have taken the eyelet board of a traditional Fender amp, and translated it over to a printed circuit board. I can think or a number of advantages that gives the kit seller.

I think you are confused what resistors you are looking at. From the screen supply, they have a 470 ohm 2 watt resistor going to each screen. This is like Fender has done it for over 50 years. It works as well as any Fender works. I see no reason to change it.