5E3x2 ---> xmfrms for all-6L6?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5E3x2 ---> xmfrms for all-6L6?

I'm going to turn my 5E3x2 an all-6L6 monster. I had a Mission Amps 5E3 I modded for 6L6s about five yrs ago, with great results. My Weber 5E3x2 just isn't loud enough.

My question: What are good OPTs and PTs for this? I don't want to spend too much dough. I'm looking at Twin-type trannies, but wondering if anybody has any other ideas.

thx,
    cg

If it's not loud enough, your band is playng to loud!!!

Seriusly, I've been playing my version of a 5E3X2 for several months now at all gig's and jams I've been at. I almost always have a Weber Load dump engaged to scrub off at least a couple of db's. This at good sized clubs and with quite a few other players. Running it straight with no attenuation it's too loud. I don't know where you're playing at, but if your band is exceeding these volumes I don't know you're doing it without complaints.

I've got an outdoor gig coming up next month, I may take the Super Reverb out for that though. I've never had an occaison where the SR wasn't loud enough.

Comment

Originally posted by hasserl View Post
      If it's not loud enough, your band is playng to loud!!!
      I do indeed need the volume. My question was technical, not aesthetic, bro! Just wondering whether there was any better/cheaper alternatives to dropping replacement Twin OPT and PT into the chassis.

As it turns out, I have power and output trannies from an old 6 x 6L6 PA head that should be up to the task.

The two Weber 12"s ought to be able to handle the 80-100 watts, but if anybody knows of any other potential pitfalls, I'd be happy to take the advice.

Comment

Originally posted by Chris G View Post
        I do indeed need the volume. My question was technical, not aesthetic, bro! Just wondering whether there was any better/cheaper alternatives to dropping replacement Twin OPT and PT into the chassis.