Mission 5E3 breaks up very early

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mission 5E3 breaks up very early

Yesterday I finished my Mission 5E3 kit.

I must say it breaks up already at volume 1, for solo its alright but with chords it is realy to much. In fact on my USA Strat I must becarefull not to do double stops or it gives a heavy overdrive like sound.

I have installed the two mods but there is not much of a change.

I followed the pictures very carefully and its working without any hum or things.

So I do have a stock Mission Kit that is not clean, how can I change it, perhaps I could have done something wrong?

Asuming that there's no malfuction (big assumption considering I don't know how it looks inside), you can always apply some NFB.

Comment

I'm no expert, but it shouldn't be breaking up at 1 on the volume. My studio Blackface deluxe goes to about halfway before starting to break up.
      Could the tubes be mis-biased??

Comment

Originally posted by Jaicen View Post
        I'm no expert, but it shouldn't be breaking up at 1 on the volume. My studio Blackface deluxe goes to about halfway before starting to break up.
        Could the tubes be mis-biased??
        Jaicen, Your comparing apples and oranges bro...My tweed Deluxe breaks at about 3 with single coils, which I believe to be common in a 5e3.

Here is a link that describes Your exact "problem" Henk and a possible remedy for it.

http://online.physics.uiuc.edu/cours...5E3_Deluxe.pdf

Comment

On second thought, I really dont have a clue (not enough info) about Your particular amp, or mine for that matter.

I'm way out of line for all the obvious reasons.

My apologies Everyone <foot in mouth>.

Comment

No worries Manic, I am already into the article.

I gess a 5E3 should supposed exactly like mine, but I was expecting to have it some cleaner. Imagine I was before ordering planning to ask Bruce about a early breaking up version, glad I didn't...

Comment