5e3 Tweed Deluxe speaker options?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5e3 Tweed Deluxe speaker options?

Hey guys, what's the standard speaker for a 57 Tweed Deluxe? Also what are some other speakers that compliment the amp as well? I'm trying to decide on which speaker would be better suited for this amp.

Chuck.

I believe a P12R was used on the earliest 5E3's, later switching to a P12Q. I've heard the P12Q sounds better. I have a 1956 5E3 that has a P12R in it and it sounds good. I've never tried a P12Q in it to compare. I would probably go with Weber speakers if I was going to be building a clone amp....

Greg

Comment

I put an Eminence Cannabis Rex in the Mojo 5E3 I built and it sounds fantastic. The new Jensen doesn't come close, to my way of listening.

Comment

I have been playing mine through a weber blue dog for about three or four years now. Sounds fantastic!
        In the future I invented time travel.

Comment

yeah, I'm thinking about going with the weber blue dog or the weber vintage series alnico 12a125a.

Chuck.

Comment

I have built two 5E3s in June and July. The first, a tubedepot build, has a weber alnico blue dog (50 watts) and the second, a mssion build, has a weber vintage series alnico 12a125a (20 watts). I find the 12a125a more responsive and less bassy, but I must confess I am still playing them in. I am told the blue dog takes a lot of playing in before it gets its best sound. I have switched speaker connections to see how much of the difference is in the amp build with similar results. I like the mssion sound better overall, it breaks up a little later. The 12a125a was half the price of the blue dog but I truly prefer it at this point.

Comment

Hey d.spree,