need some help please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need some help please!

i am new to the forum so let me start by introducing myself my name is wendell and i'm from arkansas i am a bass player but i play other instruments also. i was hoping someone here could help me with a problem i'm having. i have a acoustic g100t amp that quit on me it's dead no heater voltage. the heater voltage is present from the power trans but no tubes are lit. i found two rather large resistors burnt and figured after checking all the 6ls's that one of them was shorted and i think this is what caused the resistors to burn into or at least i hope it is this simple. but my problem is i cant figure the value of them as only one i could make outpart of the bands the other is completely gone. the one is a 1.01meg they are side by side on the circuit board. i'm not good at reading schematics so i took a couple of closeup pics of where they are on the circuit board hoping someone could help me idenify them. i realize that something had to have caused both of them to burn into and i'm hoping it's a tube issue but never the less i still have to replace the two resistors. anyway any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks, wendll.
    Attached Files

they might be the R5 and R6 filament balancing resistors (100 ohm 1 watt) but not being able to see the bottom of the circuit board, it's hard to say. where do the ends opposite of the ground connection go?

Comment

not sure exactly what you mean.what would i look for?

Comment

My guess is that those were R5 and R6 (and that you made a mistake reading one of them as 1.01M), and that they were taken out by a tube element shorting to a filament.

There's probably also a burnt up PCB trace or other wire between the transformer leads and the tube sockets.
        -Erik
        Euthymia Electronics
        Alameda, CA USA
        Sanborn Farallon Amplifier

Comment

Originally posted by Euthymia View Post