Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JCM2000 DSL 50 low volume

Hi,

I'm new to this forum so please be kind! I have a DSL50 which has low output volume. Any voltages that I have checked seem OK and the output tubes are OK. I get no volume plugging my guitar into the effects in jack. I have plenty of medical electronics experience but little tube experience. Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks, Ken

V4 is your phase inverter tube. That is the input to the power amp proper. The FX return is a good first test point in the middle of the amp, but let's go to the PI now.

Pin 7 is the input grid. With the amp running, stick your meter probe on pin 7. Leave the other probe not grounded, we want the meter probe to be a hum antenna. You could also use a small screwdriver or something. Does hum come out the speaker when you touch?

The signal to that grid comes in throough C28 from pin 1 of CON11. Touch the probe to CON11-1. Same result? You could pull the cable out of CON11 in case it is loading things down. Now probe the naked pin1 there. Hopefully this will tell you whether the rest of the power amp is working or if the problem indeed is further out into the power amp.

Have you tried a different 12AX7 in V4?

Your power tubes may be OK, but are the voltages OK on them? Do you have B+ voltage - 450-500VDC - on BOTH pin 3 and 4 of each socket? Power off - measure resistance to ground from pin 8 of each socket. SHould be 1 ohm. And you could also measure that from each oputside pin of the three bias setting test pins - the end pins are connected straight to the power tube cathodes. We want to make sure those 1 ohm cathode resistors are not damaged.

Likewise the PI tube V4. You have some sort of B+ at pins 1 and 6? And substantial voltage at the cathodes pins 3,8?