Bad Buzzing in SF Bandmaster Reverb

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bad Buzzing in SF Bandmaster Reverb

I have a SF Bandmaster Reverb that was Blackfaced about 12-13 years ago. Both channels are connected to the reverb, so they are in phase. I use an ABY box to switch between the two channels. It also has a Vari-Watt installed.

Lately it's buzzing really bad, but the volume of the buzz will fluctuate. Some days it's better than others. Sometimes it will change from one minute to the next. If I turn both volumes off, the buzz stops. If I have nothing plugged into the amp the buzz stops. It buzzes if anything it plugged into the amp. It's not buzz from my guitar. It does it even if the pedal board is muted (Boss tuner is the last pedal on the board and it has a mute function). It buzzes even if a calbe is plugged in, but not connected to my board or guitar. It's worse If I plug into both channels. It doesn't change depending on whether I'm touching the strings of the guitar, like some grounding issues cause. One night it seemed like it was worse if the reverb was on, but that hasn't always been the case. It seems like the switches on the ab box and my pedals tend to pop more than they used to, but that could be unrelated.

I am running the volume around 7 with the Vari-Watt turned down, but this seems like more buzz than I should get. This is buzz, not the usual white noise.

My first thought was caps, since it's been almost 15 years since it was recapped. But, if it was filter caps, would it stop if nothing was plugged into the amp, or if the volumes were turned down?

Anyway, anythoughts on where to look would be appreciated. Thanks.

Input Jack

First, make sure all of the input jacks are connecting to ground when nothing is inserted.
    There is a grounding tab on each jack, sometimes they stay open circuit.

Comment