X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fizz and oscillation in Peavey Rockmaster head

re fizz & oscillation in Peavey Rockmaster 120watt head

Just joined - great forum!

I've owned a Peavey Rockmaster 120 watt head (not the preamp) for 20 years (moded version at: [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uH0_iXP0TIw"]YouTube- FJA Modded Rockmaster amp 1[/ame]).

Two probs:
    1. Recently it's gotten very fizzy during overdrive
    2. Signal oscillation is present especially on lower notes (sounds like gentle vibrato/tremolo)

I'm running it with 2 power valves pulled, through the main out into a single Celestion Sidewinder (150w @ 8 ohms). All valves are recent JJ Teslas.

Enzo (Peavey Rockmaster pre mods - Page 2) has suggested replacing PSU caps which makes sense for the oscillation. I figured these and other elec. caps might need changing.

I have found this http://music-electronics-forum.com/t15597/ thread interesting and wondered if it's relevant?

BTW I studied some electronics years ago and am happy doing some fault finding and repair...

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Gary

First thing I'd check is solder joints on the tube sockets....for that matter look over all pcb's for cracked solder. Good place to start.....
    If it has loop/patch jacks clean those for good measure, or just patch a short cable from the in/out or send/return to see if it makes a difference. If it does, they need cleaning and/or deoxidising.
    The farmer takes a wife, the barber takes a pole....

Comment

RM fizz

Thanks Gtr_tech

I have done this a while back but I'll go over it again. I was wondering if fizz could be caused by preamp filters breaking down?

Happy new year!

regards

Gary

Comment

Originally posted by garyhb View Post
        I was wondering if fizz could be caused by preamp filters breaking down?
        Sure. But it's not the first thihg I'd check. I'd check the tubes first.