Crate V50 ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crate V50 ?

I have a problem with my Crate v50 1-12. The crunch channel has low output even when the gain and level set to max. It is about as loud as the clean channel on 2. Also the tone controls have no affect. I tried changing the V1 and V2 tubes (12ax7). I am new to tube circuits and have downloaded pdfs for this amp. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    thanks,

Bill

Crate V50

The tone controls work on Clean but not on Dirty?
    Do you have the Crate V50 manual?
    http://www.crateamps.com/pdf/manuals/V50-112_OM.pdf
    On page 11 is the block diagram of the amplifier.
    Clean Volume & Dirty Gain go through the same path. The tone circuit.
    Dirty Level is after the tone controls.
    Can you sort out which controls (Dirty Gain or Level) do work.

Comment

I do have the manual. The tone controls do not work on either channel. The presence switch has a minor affect on the tone. The Overdrive Level control does have an affect on the volume. When turned down the volume drops to zero. The Overdrive Gain control changes the signal but sounds like a tone control in that when it is on zero it has more bass and on 10 it is more treble but as far as volume, it has no affect on the signal.The Clean channel really honks volume wise. From this I am assuming the output section and pre-amp are working fine except when the the signal goes through the V1-b part of the first 12ax7. I don't understand how the amp can be so loud if the signal goes through the non functioning eq section.

Thanks,
      Bill
      Last edited by bill128; 01-03-2010, 05:33 AM. Reason: add more detail

Comment

Crate V50

Please be aware that this amp has a SMPS.
        Switch Mode Power Supply.
        The line voltage cap can hold a charge for awhile after the unit is turned off.
        Confine yourself to the preamp section.

Tone Control Inop.