Marshall Valvestate VS30- Hum/No Output

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall Valvestate VS30- Hum/No Output

Help !!!! Borrowed a friends amp for a little practice and during the night had an electrical storm that took out a few electronics in the house including my friends amp. When powered up I get a loud 60 cycle type hum and no output. I have some tube amp experience only. Checked dc voltages on chips and all are ok. All components look good. Is it safe to use a 1950's signal gen. and or tracer on these cicuits? Any help would greatly be appreciated!!! Thanks!!!

Hi glstarr and welcome to the forum.
    The most common fault with this type of amp is the output chip
    which can have the exact symptoms you describe.
    It's a TDA2050 .
    Providing the sig gen you have is safe in itself I see no reason
    you can't use it.
    The signal should be ok up to C48 which goes to pin 1 ,the input to the TDA 2050.
    Can't see how an electrical storm could blow it .
    More likely to affect the power supply but if you have checked the dc supply
    (+15volts and -15volts) and thats ok and the channel 2 led is functioning ,
    I would think it is the output chip.
    The easiest way to remove it is to cut the legs off then unscrew it from the heat sink taking care not to damage the thin insulating washer between the back of the chip and the heat sink. Also the little insulator on the mounting bolt shouldn't be damaged although it may use one of those clips instead.
    Then its easy to remove the debris cleanly without too much heat not damaging the pcb tracks and pads.
    Fit the new one physically to the heat sink first before you solder it in.
    That way there wont be any strain later on on the solder joints .
    Attached Files

Comment